Fast Failure

I came up with a splendid idea for a Lenten fast this year – I would give up procrastination. This would be very useful for this blog as I had been meaning to write something about how my inability to believe in a creator God had (to an extent) been cured.  The fast has, however, failed and procrastination has, until I wrote this post, been unabated.  It was pointed out to me last Wednesday that the last article on this blog related to Good Friday of 2011.  This is some procrastination as Good Friday of 2012 is fast approaching and I have not been bothered to stop procrastinating so far in Lent.

So I plan to pen (or keyboard?) an article soon on that journey back to sort of believing in a sort of God.  For the meantime, though, I want to reflect on one of those wordplay conundrums that my quirky sense of humour loves so much:  Just how fast is a fast failure?  Did I fail to give up procrastinating for the Lenten fast on Ash Wednesday or have I actually not failed until I reach Easter Morning without sacrificing any of my beloved  procrastination.  Presumably, for a faith that promotes forgiveness, it is not the case that my failure happened on Ash Wednesday.  In fact, if I do a spurt of writing (on this blog and on other work I am behind in), then it could be argued that I have the allowance to build up to actually doing the fast, so long as I give up a bit of it.  After all, the fast is symbolic and meant to inspire a re-examination of how I am living my life (not writing would about sum it up, for the most part).  So do I need to be symbolic for the whole 40 days or can I just have a few days at the tail-end of Lent to be a symbolic fast that you can imagine might have gone on for the whole of Lent?

That might seem cheating and could encourage everyone to start fasting on Good Friday.  Then again, why not?  The Lenten fast is inspired by Jesus, who told a parable about it being fair to pay workers who worked only one hour the same as those who worked all day [The Parable of the Vineyard Workers – Matthew 20:1-16].  Whether or not my fast is already a failure, I will be quick to take that as my excuse.